Executive brief
In December 2023, Symbio announced a capacity of 16,000 fuel-cell systems a year, rising to 50,000 from 2026, an industrial project worth €1bn and 1,000 jobs over its duration. Two years later, on 3 December 2025, the same company announced a restructuring that maintains 175 jobs and targets 10,000 systems a year by 2028–2030. Both sentences are official. Between them, one of the three equal shareholders — each held 33.33%: Forvia, Michelin and Stellantis — ended its hydrogen light-commercial-vehicle activities, an event Symbio itself described on 28 July 2025 as affecting 640 collaborators. This dossier is about the employer that survives that arithmetic. Forvia's own filed 2024 document counts 121,852 employees, of whom 8,247 in France, across 249 industrial sites, while its FY2024 release states a programme designed to affect up to 10,000 jobs in Europe between 2024 and 2028. A tier-one supplier is not one bet. Understanding which part of it is a bet, and which part is contractual work that continues whatever happens to the bet, is the whole of the career question.
I. The mistake: reading a supplier through its most interesting product
Hydrogen mobility is the part of this group that generates headlines, and it is the smallest part of it. Forvia's 2024 universal registration document, filed on 7 March 2025, reports 121,852 employees at the reporting date — 78,145 men and 43,707 women — against 125,630 a year earlier, of whom 8,247 in France, and states that the group operates 249 industrial sites worldwide. The same filing notes that France represents less than 7% of the group's workforce and that close to 60% of employees worldwide are non-managerial staff.
Forvia, as filed: two reporting dates (2024 universal registration document, filed 7 March 2025)
| Measure, as the company states it | 2023 | 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Group employees at the reporting date | 125,630 | 121,852 |
| Of whom in France | 8,824 | 8,247 |
| Industrial sites worldwide | not stated in this document | 249 |
| France as a share of the workforce | not stated in this document | less than 7% |
Source 1 FORVIA
Set that beside the group's FY2024 results release of 28 February 2025, which describes the EU-FORWARD programme as designed to affect up to 10,000 jobs in Europe over 2024–2028, with roughly €500m of annual savings expected in 2028, nearly 2,900 reductions announced during 2024 and around 5,700 cumulative by end-2025. Those are announced programme parameters, published by the company, and they are the single most consequential fact a candidate can hold about this employer in this period. We print them as a programme, not as an outcome: a plan to affect jobs over five years is not a count of jobs lost, and we publish no count of jobs lost.
The honest summary is therefore uncomfortable and useful: this is a very large European industrial employer, of which France is a small share, running a multi-year cost programme in Europe while simultaneously staffing electrified-platform work it is contractually obliged to deliver. Both things are true at once, and a candidate who reads only one of them will misprice every offer they receive.
II. Symbio: three parents, one of whom left
The shareholding is the story, and it is documented on both sides. Forvia announced on 23 August 2023 the completion of Stellantis's entry into Symbio, after which Forvia, Michelin and Stellantis each held 33.33%; Michelin confirmed the same operation, in the same terms, on 28 July 2023. This matters for a structural reason that applies far beyond hydrogen: a company owned in equal thirds by three industrial groups has no controlling parent, which means its investment decisions require agreement and its demand can be withdrawn by a shareholder who is also its customer.
That is precisely what the record then shows. On 28 July 2025, Symbio stated that Stellantis had ended its hydrogen light-commercial-vehicle activities, described the situation as affecting 640 collaborators, restated the equal-thirds ownership, and said a conciliation procedure had been opened before the Tribunal de commerce de Lyon. We print that sentence and stop there. Conciliation is a negotiated, confidential procedure; it is not a receivership, and no document we opened describes a redressement judiciaire. We therefore publish no insolvency characterisation of any kind.
On 3 December 2025, Symbio announced the outcome: a restructuring and refinancing agreed at the end of November, 175 jobs maintained, and an industrial plan targeting 10,000 systems a year by 2028–2030.
175
jobs Symbio states will be maintained under the restructuring announced on 3 December 2025
A company-published figure for jobs maintained.
Source 6 Symbio
Regional daily coverage — Le Progrès, on 3 December 2025, reporting with AFP — put the number of posts to be cut at the Saint-Fons plant at 358. We label it as press-reported. We did not open an employer document or a filed collective-redundancy plan stating it, and the difference between a press figure and a filed figure is the difference between a rumour with a byline and evidence.
III. The two industrial plans, printed side by side and never averaged
Nothing in this file is more instructive for a young engineer than the distance between the ambition of December 2023 and the plan of December 2025, because both are official and neither was wrong when it was written.
One company, two published industrial plans (Symbio releases of 5 December 2023 and 3 December 2025)
| Published parameter | December 2023, as announced | December 2025, as announced |
|---|---|---|
| Annual capacity | 16,000 systems, rising to 50,000 from 2026 | 10,000 systems a year targeted by 2028–2030 |
| Named jobs figure | 1,000 jobs over the duration of the €1bn HyMotive project | 175 jobs maintained under the restructuring |
| Engineering population stated | more than 450 engineers, including 100 innovation engineers and around 20 PhDs | not stated in this release |
| Shareholding | Forvia, Michelin and Stellantis, 33.33% each | not restated in this release |
Sources 8 Le Progres · 6 Symbio
The December 2023 release also described the SymphonHy site and the €1bn HyMotive project, and stated an engineering population of more than 450 engineers, including 100 innovation engineers and around 20 PhDs. That last figure is the most transferable number in this dossier. It says that even at peak ambition, the deep-research population of a European fuel-cell champion was measured in tens of doctorates — not hundreds. Any candidate planning a research career should size their expectations to that reality before they size them to a press release.
IV. What the sector-level evidence supports, and what it does not
France Hydrogène's employment study with BDO, published in December 2024, reports 16,400 jobs supported by the hydrogen sector in France, of which 6,300 direct, with two indirect and induced jobs for each direct job, and a potential of 66,600 by 2035. Those are sector figures produced by an industry association with a consultancy, and we grade them accordingly: they are the best public order-of-magnitude estimate available, they are not an audited count, and they cannot be attributed to any single employer.
What they do establish is scale discipline. A direct hydrogen workforce of 6,300 across an entire national sector means that hydrogen, in France today, is a specialist labour market of a few thousand people, not a mass employer. A candidate weighing a hydrogen role against, say, electronics for electrified platforms is not choosing between two equally deep markets; they are choosing between a specialism and an industry. The specialism can be the right choice — but only if it is chosen knowing its size.
V. What a tier-one supplier hires for regardless
Strip out the hydrogen question and the filing still describes a very large systems business. The evidence supports four capability families without requiring a single number we cannot source:
- Industrial engineering across a very large plant estate. 249 industrial sites is the dominant fact of this employer's engineering life. Standardising a process, a quality system or a launch across that estate is the work, and it is the least cyclical work in the group.
- Electronics and software inside a vehicle programme. The group's own filing frames its activity around electrified platforms; an engineer here works to an OEM's programme milestones, not to their own roadmap.
- Programme cost engineering. A company publishing a €500m annual-savings target for 2028 is a company where cost is an engineering discipline with headcount attached, not a finance function that reports on one.
- Fuel-cell systems integration, at specialist scale. Real, funded, and small: 175 maintained jobs at Symbio and 6,300 direct jobs across the whole French sector are the two numbers that should calibrate anyone's expectations.
The negotiating instruction that follows is blunt. Ask which business group and which customer programme funds the role; ask whether the site is in the scope of the announced European programme; and ask for the answer in writing. A supplier's job security is a property of a programme and a plant, not of a logo.
VI. The conclusion the evidence supports
On the filed and published record, Forvia is a 121,852-person supplier with 8,247 people in France, running a European cost programme designed to affect up to 10,000 jobs by 2028, and holding one third of a fuel-cell company that lost a shareholder-customer and re-emerged with 175 jobs maintained and a target of 10,000 systems a year by 2028–2030. Read as a career signal, that is not a story about hydrogen failing. It is a story about where the risk sits in an automotive supply chain: with the programme, with the customer's decision, and with the plant — never with the technology's press coverage. The candidates who do well here will be the ones who ask which of those three they are being hired into.
Refused in print
We do not publish, and did not estimate: any salary, salary band or compensation figure; any French site count or per-site headcount for this group, neither of which we could locate in a dated company document; any business-group employment split for France; the widely circulated "150,000 people, 290 industrial sites" boilerplate, which we could not reconcile with the filed 121,852 and 249 and therefore omit entirely rather than print beside it; the 358 affected posts as an official figure, having opened no employer or filed document stating it; any characterisation of Symbio as being in receivership, which no document we opened supports; any subtraction of the 175 maintained jobs from the 640 collaborators to produce a redundancy total; any hydrogen revenue, order book or per-unit price; and any attribution of France Hydrogène sector employment figures to Forvia, Symbio or any other single employer.
