Skip to main content
Aerospace technician in a hangar inspecting a turbofan engine fan module under directional light, tooling and inspection lamps in the foreground.
COMPANY DEEP-DIVES
10 min read

Hiring flat, deliveries down: what Safran’s own filing says about a career there

Executive brief

In the year Safran hired more than 18,000 people on permanent contracts — "the same number as in 2023", in its own words — it delivered 1,407 LEAP engines against 1,570 the year before, 10% down, "as a result of supply-chain difficulties" (Safran, 2024 Universal Registration Document). Those two sentences sit a few hundred pages apart in the same filing, and read together they overturn the ordinary way an engineer reads an aerospace employer. Hiring at a prime is not a function of what it shipped this year; it is a function of what it has promised to ship and cannot yet build. The same document records a group of 103,058 employees, of whom 54,053 are in France, and a 50.00%1 equity holding in Lynred — the infrared detector business this desk already covers on the Thales side of the same joint venture. This dossier reads Safran as three different employers wearing one logo, prices each of them in the only currency we can audit — dated, filed figures — and prints, in full, the eight claim families we refused because the document that would support them does not exist or could not be opened.

I. Why a delivery shortfall is a hiring signal, not a warning

The intuitive reading of a 10% fall in engine deliveries is contraction. For a career decision that reading is close to inverted, and the filing itself explains why. Safran states that 1,407 LEAP engines were delivered in 2024, 10% down on the 1,570 in 2023, as a result of supply-chain difficulties, and in the same document that, at the end of 2024, almost 9,200 LEAP engines had been delivered since the start of the programme against a CFM International backlog of more than 11,500 orders (Safran, 2024 Universal Registration Document).

Hold those three numbers together. A backlog larger than everything the programme has ever delivered, and a delivery line moving in the wrong direction because of supply. That is not a demand problem. It is an industrial-capability problem, and an industrial-capability problem is the single most reliable generator of engineering work: qualification of second sources, process capability at suppliers, tooling and rate readiness, non-conformance disposition, industrialisation of parts designed when volumes were a third of today's. The group's own hiring line is consistent with that reading — more than 18,000 permanent hires in 2024, the same number as in 2023, published in the risk-factors chapter of the filing, where the company discusses its exposure to skills and human resources rather than in a recruitment brochure.

Safran, as published: 2024 against 2023 (2024 Universal Registration Document, filed 31 March 2025)

Measure, as the company states it20232024
LEAP engines delivered1,5701,407 (−10%, "as a result of supply-chain difficulties")
People hired on permanent contractsmore than 18,000more than 18,000 ("the same number as in 2023")
LEAP engines delivered since programme startnot stated in this documentalmost 9,200 at end-2024
CFM International LEAP order backlognot stated in this documentmore than 11,500 orders at end-2024

Source 1 Safran

The candidate-facing consequence is precise: at this employer, in this cycle, the work that is short of hands is downstream of design. An engineer who wants to be near a clean sheet is applying to the wrong phase of the wrong programme; an engineer who wants to be handed a rate problem with a customer waiting at the end of it is applying to exactly the right one.

II. Where the people are, and why the French concentration matters

Safran reports 103,058 employees in its 2024 sustainability statement, broken down as 30,723 women, 72,312 men, 4 other and 19 not reported. Of those, 54,053 are in France, and the company notes that in 2024 it had more than 10% of its total workforce in each of exactly two countries: France and Mexico (Safran, 2024 Universal Registration Document).

54,053

Safran employees in France at the 2024 reporting date, inside a group total of 103,058

As published in the group's own sustainability statement. The same filing carries a second, narrower figure — 99,364 — defined as permanent and temporary employees for CSRD reporting scope, excluding 3,474 work-study students and 220 CIFRE doctoral students.

Source 1 Safran

That second figure deserves a paragraph of its own, because it is the kind of detail that separates a filing from a press kit. The company states that employees for the purpose of the CSRD include permanent employees and temporary employees, i.e., 99,364 employees, as well as work-study students (3,474 people) and postgraduate students under industrial training-through-research agreements (CIFRE) (220 people). A reader who quotes "99,364" as the group's size and a reader who quotes "103,058" are both right and are answering different questions. We print both with their definitions and reconcile neither, because reconciling them would mean publishing our arithmetic as the company's disclosure.

The 3,474 and the 220 are also the most useful entry-route numbers in the entire document. They say that work-study is not a marginal programme at this employer — it is a population of thousands, counted in the sustainability statement — and that there is a funded doctoral route (CIFRE) through which research is done inside the industrial perimeter rather than beside it. The filing's own 2024 highlights add almost 30 training hours per employee. That is the whole of what we can say about training with a document behind it, and it is more than most employers publish.

The strategic error a candidate makes with a group of this shape is treating it as one labour market. On the evidence of the filing it is at least three.

1 — Propulsion. The LEAP programme is a rate business inside a joint venture, CFM International. Its published metrics are deliveries, cumulative deliveries and backlog, and its constraint in the reported year was supply. The engineering identity here is manufacturing, quality and supplier-facing: process capability, first-article inspection, industrialisation of legacy designs at higher rate.

2 — Electronics and defence. The same group, through Safran Electronics & Defense, designs and produces optronic and inertial-navigation systems — observation and engagement equipment for land platforms, and inertial navigation data for aeronautics (Safran, 2024 Universal Registration Document). This is an electronics and algorithms business with an aircraft or a vehicle attached, not the reverse, and its constraint is not supply-chain rate but clearance, accreditation and export control.

3 — The infrared joint venture. The filing's list of equity-accounted investments carries the row Lynred, France, EQ, 50.00, EQ, 50.00, and its narrative names Thales (Lynred and Optrolead) for infrared. Safran holds 50% of the infrared detector business; Thales is the co-shareholder. For this desk that single row closes a real gap: our corridor coverage has described Lynred beside Thales for rounds without holding the other parent, which made a 50/50 venture read as one company's asset.

Why does the distinction change a career decision rather than merely a diagram? Because the three have different clocks and different gates. A propulsion rate problem is resolved in quarters and hires for it now. An optronics programme runs on state procurement cycles and hires against clearance availability. A 50/50 joint venture is governed by two parents, which means its roadmap is a negotiation and its staff belong, legally and culturally, to a third entity with its own name on the badge.

IV. The gate nobody can prepare for in advance

For the defence half of this group the decisive entry condition is not a skill. France's protection of national defence secrecy is set out in an interministerial instruction — Instruction générale interministérielle relative à la protection du secret de la défense nationale, n° 1300/SGDSN/PSE/PSD, dated 9 August 2021, which itself repeals and replaces the version of 13 November 2020 (SGDSN). We name the governing document and its date, and we deliberately quote no article from it: we identified the instrument but did not open and read the article text, and a legal definition half-read is worse than a legal definition omitted.

What a candidate needs from that fact is procedural, not textual. Clearance is granted by the state, to a person, for a defined scope of work, at the request of an employer. It cannot be obtained in advance of a job, it constrains nationality and mobility, its processing time is outside the employer's control, and it is renewable rather than permanent. The practical instruction is therefore to establish in writing, before signing, which of the target roles requires clearance, at what level, who sponsors the request, and what the person does for the months in which it is pending. No amount of technical excellence substitutes for that conversation.

V. What was reported, and did not survive the check

Three figures circulate widely about hiring at this employer and none of them is a company disclosure. We print them at their real strength, because a reader is better served by a labelled press report than by a laundered one.

The 2025 France hiring range. Le Parisien reported on 30 September 2025, quoting the company, that l'entreprise d'aéronautique devrait embaucher entre 6 000 et 7 000 nouveaux collaborateurs, dans les prochains mois, sur différents métiers — up to 7,000 hires in the coming months. The aerospace industry association GIFAS republished the same Le Parisien content in its press summary. We searched the company's own newsroom for a dated release carrying that range and did not find one. It is therefore a press-reported figure, sourced to a newspaper, and we do not place it beside the filed 18,000 as though the two had the same standing.

The Dijon site. Here the two grades of evidence sit side by side, which makes the distinction visible. The company itself announced, in a release dated 1 July 2026, an investment of €20m at Dijon to strengthen its industrial capabilities in defence optronics — a dated company statement, and the kind of fact we treat as primary. The site's headcount is not in it. Aerobuzz reported on 6 July 2026 that the site, created in 1957, emploie 420 salariés, that its headcount doubled between 2020 and 2025, and that 200 recrutements supplémentaires sont prévus d'ici 2030. We could not open a company release stating any of those three. So the investment is printed as a company disclosure and the headcount as trade-press reporting, and nothing in our analysis rests on the second.

VI. How to test this employer in an interview

Four questions, each derived from a figure above rather than from interview folklore.

  1. "Is this role upstream or downstream of the rate problem?" The published constraint in the reported year was supply, not orders. A role that touches supplier qualification, process capability or rate readiness is on the critical path; one that does not should be justified in other terms.
  2. "Which legal entity employs me, and who governs its roadmap?" A 50/50 joint venture is not a division. If the answer names an entity with two parents, ask how technical priorities are arbitrated between them.
  3. "What clearance does this scope require, who sponsors it, and what do I work on while it is pending?" Ask for the answer in writing.
  4. "Is this a work-study, CIFRE or permanent route, and what is the documented conversion path?" The filing counts 3,474 work-study students and 220 CIFRE doctoral students; those are real doors, and each has a different exit.

VII. The conclusion the evidence supports

On its own filed 2024 record, Safran is a group hiring at a constant, very large rate — more than 18,000 permanent hires, twice running — while its flagship programme delivered fewer engines than the year before against a backlog larger than its entire delivery history. That is a company buying industrial capability, not growth optionality. More than half its people are in France, which makes it one of a small number of employers where a French-based engineer can reach a global programme without leaving the country. And it is two different careers, not one: a propulsion career governed by rate and supply, and an electronics-and-defence career governed by clearance and export control, with a 50%-held infrared joint venture sitting between them. Choosing between those two is the actual decision. Everything else in the recruitment literature is downstream of it.

Refused in print

We do not publish, and did not estimate: any salary, salary band or compensation figure for any role at this employer; any headcount for any individual French site, including Dijon, other than as press-reported and labelled; any dated headcount for Safran Electronics & Defense, which the filing does not break out by business; any official list of that business's French sites, which we could not locate as a dated company document; the 6,000–7,000 hiring range as a company figure, since we found no company release stating it; any apprenticeship intake, conversion rate or apprentice pay band; any verbatim definition of clearance levels from the SGDSN instruction, which we identified and dated but did not read in full; and any reconciliation of the 103,058 and 99,364 headcount definitions, which the company publishes separately and we leave separate.

Shape the future of career exploration

Want a simulation for this role or industry?

We're building the world's most comprehensive library of job simulations. Tell us what you'd like to practice, and we'll work with our partners to create it — completely free.

Request a Simulation